no avatar

St. Paul's Welfle, Stein first team all-Ohio

Norwalk Reflector Staff • Oct 29, 2015 at 12:02 PM

From Staff and Wire Reports

COLUMBUS -- St. Paul, Monroeville and Western Reserve all had players snare all-Ohio honors the 2007 Associated Press Division V and VI All-Ohio high school football teams released Wednesday.

The Flyers, who won the Firelands Conference at 7-0 and advanced to the Division VI regional final, placed two players on the first team with senior Alex Welfle on the defensive line and senior Wes Stein as a punter.

Earlier this month, Welfle was selected northwest district Co-Lineman of the Year.

Also for St. Paul, junior Shawn Hemenway posted second-team all-state honors on the offensive line.

Monroeville, which placed second in the league and advanced to the playoffs in Division VI, had two special mention choices in seniors Myles Smith and Brian Sparks.

In Division V, Western Reserve senior JJ Boyce grabbed special mention all-Ohio accolades.

Around the state, quarterbacks Lamar McQueen of Youngstown Ursuline and Ryan Radcliff of Sherwood Fairview were the offensive players of the year in Division V. Their defensive counterparts were linebacker Jordan Thompson of Rockford Parkway and back Shawn Sheridan of West Salem Northwestern.

McQueen, a 5-foot-9, 165-pound senior, ran for 722 yards and six touchdowns and added 1,000 yards passing and nine more scores while Ursuline went 8-2 in the regular season. The Fighting Irish (12-2) meet Maria Stein Marion Local (14-0) for the state championship on Friday morning at Massillon's Paul Brown Tiger Stadium.

Thompson had 118 tackles and also starred as a quarterback for Parkway, while Sheridan intercepted 10 passes when he wasn't a sterling wide-out. The Division V coaches of the year were Tom Williams, who led Jeromesville Hillsdale to an 8-2 mark for just its fourth winning season, and Derrick Johnson, 1-9 in his first year as coach and 7-3 this year.

Ada quarterback Zac Dysert and running backs Mark Nichols of Newark Catholic and Adam Brickner of Bascom Hopewell-Loudon shared the offensive player of the year award in Division VI.

Dysert passed for 2,350 yards and 21 touchdowns before breaking his thumb and starring as a wide receiver. Nichols rushed for almost 2,000 yards and 29 TDs during the regular season, with Brickner going for 1,540 yards and 20 scores.

Their teams meet in the state championship game on Saturday morning at Canton's Fawcett Stadium. The honorees on defense were linebackers Brian Wagner of Springfield Catholic Central and Sandusky St. Mary's Ryan Wasylik.

Taking the coaching honors in Division VI were Steve DeWitt of Springfield Catholic Central, who led his school to its first 10-0 mark since 1963, and Gary Cox, who two years removed from an 0-10 mark, guided Sugar Grove Berne Union to a 6-4 record and its first playoffs trip since 1994.

Recommended for You

    Norwalk Reflector Videos