no avatar

ONLINE EXCLUSIVE - SC school chief gets new 3-year deal

Norwalk Reflector Staff • Oct 29, 2015 at 12:44 PM

GREENWICH The South Central Board of Education granted a three-year contract to Superintendent Ben Chaffee for school years 2008 to 2011 with a 4 percent increase. This will give Chaffee a salary of $81,120.

Salary increases of 3.5 percent were given to Treasurer Shirley Oney ($64,363) and to assistant secretary Janet Weatherbie at Monday night's meeting.

The board accepted two resignations Ryan Teglovic, dean of students and head football coach, and Abby Herring, a first-grade teacher.

The following coaches were improved for the 2007-2008 school year:

Pat Durham, varsity boys' basketball.

Glenn Regan, varsity girls' basketball.

Ken Johnson, varsity wrestling.

Jeff Laughlin, golf.

Lindsay Blair, cheerleading.

Candace Kaylor, volleyball.

Kaylor also was hired as an art teacher on a one-year limited contract to replace Greg McDonald, who retires at the end of the school year.

Several teacher transfers for the next school year were approved. Melissa Wallace will transfer to the K-8 library, replacing Jan Hanko, who also is retiring. Karen Kluge will transfer to the sixth grade and Veronica Middaugh will move to the first grade.

A number of supplemental contracts also received approval.

A two-year agreement, July 1, 2007 to June 30, 2009, between A-1 Auto Body inc., and the schools for bus maintenance services received a unanimous vote. A-1 is the present maintenance company.

The board declared the Ag-Ed bulk tank as excess equipment and will accept the highest bid for its purchase. Sealed bids must be into the superintendent's office by noon June 8.

The top 11 students in this year's senior class were announced: Brandon Bisel and Crickett Bowman, both of whom will attend Ashland University; Mathew Conger, Case Western University; Ian Franks, Wooster College; Cassidy Keiser, Kettering College of Medical Arts; Olivia Miller, ATI of Wooster; Luke Priddy, Miami University; Aimee Shultz, Ashland University; Stephanie Spoerr, ATI of Wooster; Brooke Stevens, The Ohio State University, Mansfield; and Nadean Wills, undecided.

Each of the 11 received a pin from board member Leann Palm.

Graduation will be held at 2 p.m. Sunday at the high school.

Chaffee announced there will be an early dismissal of 1 p.m. on the final day of school, June 1. Chaffee also thanked the staff for a "great year."

Prior to the meeting a reception was held for retiring teachers Greg McDonald and Jan Hanko.

The next regular meeting will be at 7 p.m. June 18 in the high school library.

Recommended for You

    Norwalk Reflector Videos