no avatar

ODNR updates Ohio earthquake map

Norwalk Reflector Staff • Oct 29, 2015 at 12:00 PM

More than 30 earthquakes have occurred in and around Ohio since 2002, spurring the Ohio Department of Natural Resources (ODNR) Division of Geological Survey to publish an updated map that pinpoints the location and approximate magnitude of these recent seismic incidents. The revised map also includes new information about historic earthquakes in the region.

More than 200 earthquakes with a magnitude of 2.0 or greater have occurred in the Ohio region since 1776. While it may seem like earthquakes are occurring more frequently in recent years, ODNR's Ohio Seismic Network attributes this perceived change to improved technology and communication among people who experience the earthquakes.

The new map, which includes all of Ohio's recorded earthquakes, shows a concentration of earthquake epicenters in two areas of the state: western Ohio in the vicinity of Shelby County, and along the Lake Erie coast in Lake County at Painesville.

Recommended for You

    Norwalk Reflector Videos