no avatar

Monroeville says goodbye to 58

Norwalk Reflector Staff • Oct 29, 2015 at 12:45 PM

 MONROEVILLE — The future looks bright for the Monroeville High School class of 2007.    

 Fifty-eight seniors said their final goodbyes Sunday afternoon at Monroeville’s annual commencement.

 Class president Rachel Hancock might have summed up the day best.    

 “Thanks to my classmates. If I made you laugh, you’re welcome. If I made you cry, I’m sorry. If I changed your life, chances are you’ve done the same to me.”    

 Hancock’s speech was just one of many emotional moments Sunday.    

 “We have a choice,” she said. “We can get left in the dust or be at the head of the pack, making it happen.

 “And now is the time for us to be accountable,” she said earlier. “We can no longer postpone our future. It is staring us right in the face. Now is our chance to apply what we’ve learned at MHS and create our futures exactly the way we want. No one can control your future but you.”

 The class of 2007 motto is: “Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you might miss it.”

 The class flower is the white rose, while the class colors are black, platinum and gold.

 Kenny Dresser was class vice president and Andy Ball was class secretary. Class treasurer was Elizabeth Tyler. Student council members were Jessica Adelman, Joseph Scheid, Lauren Stieber and Angela Wilhelm.    

 Ryan Fleming offered the class vocational scholar address. “So we as a class should be proud of ourselves, each other, our teachers, our parents, for believing in us and making us who we are today.”

Superintendent Carol Girton welcomed graduates and audience.

High school principal David Stubblebine presented Kelly Morman with the 2007 principal’s award.    

 “As I stand here now, I cannot believe that we have made it to this day,” Morman said. “I remember when we first figured out that we would be the class of 2007.

“We have been through a lot together over the past 13 years,” she added. “There have been a lot of really exciting and happy times and there have been some very sad and low times throughout the years. But, the fact that we have made it through all of these times shows that we can continue to persevere for the rest of our lives.”    

 The class of 2007 earned about $454,000 in scholarships.    

 The classes eight Distinguished Scholars were recognized. They were Seth Adelman, Emily Bischoff, Farrah Heft, Kelly Morman, Jordan Ringenberg, Jared Simon, Patrick Stang and Lauren Stieber.

Recommended for You