no avatar

Four challengers win positions in township races

Norwalk Reflector Staff • Oct 29, 2015 at 12:00 PM

Several new faces will be in township meetings as four challengers won positions and five incumbents retained their seats in challenged races.

Eight of Huron County’s 19 townships saw contested races for trustee and/or fiscal officer in Tuesday’s general election.

Townships are governed by a board of three trustees and fiscal officer, all of whom are elected to four-year terms. The elections are staggered, so two trustees run in one general election, and then the third trustee and fiscal officer run two years later.

Jill Cherry, of 1590 Hanville Corners Road, won the seat of Greenfield Township fiscal officer by defeating incumbent Elizabeth Smith. Cherry received 100 votes, while Smith earned 71, Kurt Barman 66 and Laura Baxter 45.

Wendy Kidd will be a New London Township trustee after defeating incumbent John W. Kelly by a 269 to 184 vote. “I just want to work as a team with the other board members and do what I can for the township,” said Kidd, of 4581 Fayette Road. “I’ve lived here all my life and I just want to help.”

Norwalk Township has two new officials with Erin Gayle Bartle as the new trustee and Terry Boose as the new fiscal officer.

Bartle, of 910 Wood Glen, defeated incumbent Frank Schnellinger by a 297 to 271 margin. “I’m looking forward to working with the other trustees to improve and expand the services the residents of the township recieve,” she said. She ran for trustee in 2005 and lost by 50 votes.

Terry Boose, of 5054 Ohio 601, defeated incumbent Rhonda Jaworski and Bridget Riley Musso. Boose, the former Huron County commissioner, recieved 238 votes to Jaworski’s 216 and Musso’s 127.

Ryan P. Horoschak, of 798 Monroe St., retained his seat as Clarksfield Township trustee by defeating challengers Bill Johnson and Tim Waldron. Horoschak recieved 124 votes to Johnson’s 98 and Waldron’s 92.

Joe Merrilees, of 1488 Ohio 162, kept his seat at Fitchville Township trustee by defeating Robert W. White, 99 to 94.

Kevin Zimmerman, of 1806 Jericho Road, will continue as a Hartland Township trustee after getting 135 votes to defeat challenger Carl L. Bohn, who got 59 votes.

Donald J. Hutchison, of 5640 Bullhead Road, retained his seat as a Richmond Township trustee by defeating B.E. Schuller, 76 to 68.

In Ridgefield Township, Fred Leber, of 2723 Peru Center Road, will keep his seat as trustee after defeating David J. Mahl by a vote of 462 to 152.

Recommended for You