no avatar

Edison students honored for theater work

By Norwalk Reflector staff • May 24, 2019 at 7:00 PM

MILAN — The Edison High School Drama Club recently held its annual awards dessert to celebrate its 2018-2019 season.

During the year, Edison students presented two full-length plays, an evening of one-act plays and a short original work. In March, they presented “Don’t Drink the Water” as a featured, full-length performance at the state Thespian Conference.

Senior Megan Morley received an outstanding creativity award for organizing and directing Edison’s first Play-in-a-Hurry, an original work written, rehearsed and performed in a single week. Outstanding creativity awards also went to sophomore Mallory Stiles for her work on “Don’t Drink the Water,” senior Allison Pennell for directing “Greek Mythology Olympiaganza” and junior Dakota Hoffman for her poster design for “Big Fish.”

Outstanding technician awards were awarded to sophomore Ian Maag for his work on “Don’t Drink the Water” and seniors Kristen Neate and Morley for their work on “Big Fish.”

Performance awards were given to seniors Vernon Kluding and Pennell for “Don’t Drink the Water,” sophomores Ian Maag and Katie Jeremay for “Greek Mythology Olympiaganza” and seniors Pennell and Evan Hoffman for their work in “Big Fish.”

For the 2018-19 school year, Tori Wieber received the best freshman award and Leo Schnellinger and Maag were recognized as the best sophomores. Meredith Holler received the best junior award and Pennell was honored as the best thespian.

Ten students were inducted into Troupe 930 of the International Thespian Society, a high school theater honorary. The 2019 class of new thespians includes seniors Morgan Otto and Neate; sophomores Maci Conrad, Stiles, Jeremay, Trevon Lassen and Anna James; and freshmen Natalie Kwasny-Jackson, Aubree Schindler and Tori Wieber.

Holler and junior Sarah Bursley were honored for attaining the rank of honor thespian.

Norwalk Reflector Videos