no avatar

Area players earn All-SBC softball honors

By Norwalk Reflector staff • Updated May 20, 2019 at 4:10 PM

Norwalk earned a pair of players on the All-Sandusky Bay Conference Lake Division honorable mention team, it was announced on Monday.

Senior catcher Sydney Hughes and sophomore infielder Meadow Muratori were recognized for the Truckers, who went from one win last season to 8-16 this season (2-6 SBC).

Bellevue (19-4), which will play in a Division II regional semifinal on Wednesday, placed four players on the first team, including Most Outstanding Performer Riley Mohr. She is batting .662 with six home runs and 50 runs batted in for entering Wednesday.

Other first team selections for the Lady Red included junior pitcher Hannah Hill, junior catcher Raquelle Seamon and senior outfielder Skyler Reed.


All-Sandusky Bay Conference softball teams



Pitcher: Hunter Schwochow, Clyde, Sr.; Hannah Hill, Bellevue, Jr.

Catcher: Raquelle Seamon, Bellevue, Jr.

Infield: Riley Mohr, Bellevue, Sr.; Murissa Drown, Clyde, Jr.; Ava Sarka, Columbian, Sr.; Jala Hunter, Sandusky, Jr.

Outfield: Skyler Reed, Bellevue, Sr.; Julia Munoz, Clyde, Sr.; Hannah Hayberger, Sandusky, Sr.

Most Outstanding performer: Riley Mohr, Bellevue.


Pitcher: Kennedy Ryan, Bellevue, Sr.; Abby Chapman, Columbian, Jr.

Catcher: Chase Arndt, Clyde, Sr.

Infield: Alex Fiske, Bellevue, Jr.; Dani Keckler, Columbian, Jr.; Dessa Dubbert, Perkins, Sr.; Kami Pou, Sandusky, Sr.

Outfield: Jillian Sumser, Bellevue, So.; Emma Weller, Bellevue, So.; Kira Roldan, Sandusky, Sr.


Pitcher: Carly Schafer, Columbian, Sr.

Catcher: Sydney Hughes, Norwalk, Sr.

Infield: Meadow Muratori, Norwalk, So.; Kelly Baker, Perkins, Fr.

Outfield: Hunter Breidenbach, Columbian, Sr.


Edison places two on Bay first team

After another solid season, the Edison Chargers put two players on the All-SBC Bay Division first team, and two as well on the second team.

Earning first team honors for the Chargers included senior infielder Jessica Stoll and senior outfielder Morgan Scott. Pitcher Lindsey Fortuna and outfielder Kayla Mancuso, also both seniors, were voted to the second team.

Freshman pitcher Kira Appeman and senior infielder Hannah Vitas were honorable mention choices for Edison. The Chargers took an 18-7 record (6-4 SBC) into Monday’s rescheduled game vs. Margaretta. They also won a Division III sectional championship.

Also from the area, Willard senior catcher Jena Adams, junior infielder Haylie Hamons, and outfielders Becca Slone (junior) and Kalli Sowers (sophomore) were all selected to the second team.

The Crimson Flashes finished 13-11 overall and 5-7 in the Bay this season.


All-Sandusky Bay Conference softball teams



Pitcher: Jayden Moore, Margaretta, Jr.; Sarah Herwat, Huron, Sr.

Catcher: Olivia Jensen, Oak Harbor, Sr.

Infield: Jennah Yost, Margaretta, Sr.; Kaytlynn Sandwisch, Oak Harbor, Sr.; Rockell Kuns, Margaretta, Sr.; Jessica Stoll, Edison, Sr.

Outfield: Logan Bush, Margaretta, Sr.; Morgan Scott, Edison, Sr.; Tori Miller, Margaretta, Sr.; Madison Meldon, Huron, Jr.

Most Outstanding Performer: Jennah Yost, Margaretta.


Pitcher: Maggie Hoffman, Vermilion, Sr.; Lindsey Fortuna, Edison, Sr.

Catcher: Jena Adams, Willard, Sr.

Infield: Dani Epling, Oak Harbor, Sr.; Haylie Hamons, Willard, Jr.; Gracie Frey, Vermilion, Jr.; Cora Mamere, Huron, Jr.

Outfield: Becca Slone, Willard, Jr.; Kayla Mancuso, Edison, Sr.; Reagan Schultz, Oak Harbor, Fr.; Kalli Sowers, Willard, So.


Pitcher: Kira Appeman, Edison, Fr.

Catcher: Gabby Sasala, Huron Sr.

Infield: Aubrey Wharton, Port Clinton, Sr.; Hannah Vitaz, Edison, Sr.

Outfield: Sarah Kopp, Port Clinton, Jr.; Chloe Roosen, Oak Harbor, Sr.

Norwalk Reflector Videos