no avatar

Norwalk's Branum is SBC Lake Outstanding Performer

By Norwalk Reflector staff • Oct 22, 2018 at 7:31 PM

Norwalk senior midfielder Coley Branum was voted as the Most Outstanding Performer for the girls soccer Sandusky Bay Conference Lake Division, the league announced on Monday.

Branum, an NCAA Division II University of West Georgia recruit, scored 12 goals and had 11 assists in 17 matches this season for Norwalk — which finished 13-3-1 (8-0 Lake).

Also earning first team for the Truckers were a pair of freshmen in defender Lana Oglesby and attacker Nyah Daniels (23 goals). Voted to the second team included junior midfielder Quinn Jaworski (16 points) and attacker Gwen Olcott (11 goals), while sophomore goalkeeper Makaila White was honorable mention.

Norwalk finished with the second-most wins in the 19-year history of the program, including back-to-back SBC Lake champions without a league loss (16-0).

Edison’s Soviak is first team Bay

Edison senior defender Josie Soviak was voted to the first team All-SBC Bay Division, the league announced on Monday.

Also for Edison, junior goalkeeper Elizabeth Pruitt, junior midfielder Piper Nickoli and sophomore attacker Aliyah Caporini were all second-team selections. Senior attacker Hannah Ceja was honorable mention.


First team

Keeper: Allie Schuster, Perkins, Sr.

Defender: Lana Oglesby, Norwalk, Fr.; Kira Roldan, Sandusky, Sr.; Nancy Siegel, Perkins, Sr.

Midfielder: Coley Branum, Norwalk, Sr.; Lexie Wiedenheft, Perkins, Jr.; Mia Knupke, Sandusky, Sr.

Attacker: Nyah Daniels, Norwalk, Fr.; Olivia Howard, Perkins, Sr.; Taylor Krzyzak, Columbian, Sr.

Most Outstanding Performer: Coley Branum, Norwalk, Sr.

Second team

Keeper: Hannah Hayberger, Sandusky, Sr.

Defender: Rachel Rep, Columbian, Sr.; Lexi Wilson, Clyde, Jr.; Anziyah Cunningham, Sandusky, Sr.

Midfielder: Anne Rannigan, Columbian, Jr.; Sidney Hohman, Clyde, So.; Quinn Jaworski, Norwalk, Jr.

Attacker: Jala Hunter, Sandusky, Sr.; Kylie Dorsey, Perkins, So.; Gwen Olcott, Norwalk, So.

Honorable mention

Keeper: Makaila White, Norwalk, So.

Defender: Emelia Andrews, Perkins, Sr.; Carly Schaffer, Columbian, Sr.

Midfielder: Lilly Gross, Perkins, Jr.; Grace Cisman, Perkins, Fr.


First team

Keeper: Cora Mamere, Huron, Jr.

Defender: Victoria Eytchison, Huron, So.; Erika Winters, Oak Harbor, Jr.; Josie Soviak, Edison, Sr.

Midfielder: Faith Diffenbacher, Huron, So.; Marna Winterfield, Oak Harbor, Sr.; Corinne Steuk, Huron, Sr.

Attacker: Baylor Fortune, Huron, Sr.; Hannah Schulte, Oak Harbor, Fr.; Mikayla Lindo, Vermilion, So.

Most Outstanding Performer: Baylor Fortune, Huron, Sr.

Second team

Keeper: Elizabeth Pruitt, Edison, Jr.

Defender: Kylie Obergefell, Huron, Sr.; Kaley Daniel, Oak Harbor, Fr.; Kailey Logue, Vermilion, Jr.

Midfielder: Piper Nickoli, Edison, Jr.; Riley Allen, Vermilion, Jr.; Trinity Varga, Oak Harbor, So.

Attacker: Emma Golling, Huron, Sr.; Aliyah Caporini, Edison, So.; Star Mackey, Port Clinton, Jr.

Honorable mention

Keeper: Marie Gluth, Port Clinton, Jr.

Defender; Paige Singer, Huron, So.; Alaina Schultz, Port Clinton, Sr.

Midfielder: Samantha Sneider, Port Clinton, Jr.; Blair Petee, Huron, So.

Attacker: Hannah Ceja, Edison, Sr.; Elayna Krupp, Oak Harbor, So.



Norwalk’s Gonzalez first team

Norwalk junior defender earned All-SBC Lake Division honors for the second straight season — but this time landed a spot on the first team, the league announced on Monday.

Earning second team for the Truckers included sophomore midfielder Garrison Smith and sophomore attacker Will Gehlhausen. Honorable mention selections included juniors Tyler Clark (goalkeeper), Jacob Baca (defender) and Austin Obermeyer (midfielder).


First team

Keeper: Ryan Habermehl, Vermilion, Sr.

Defender: Ryan Bodecker, Vermilion, Sr.; Mason Brightman, Perkins, Sr.; Cesar Gonzalez, Norwalk, Jr.

Midfielder: Logan Penton, Vermilion, Jr.; Sam Dewey, Vermilion, Sr.; Max Corso, Sandusky, Sr.; Zach Corso, Sandusky, So.

Attacker: Justin Stask, Vermilion, Jr.; Riley Baxter, Vermilion, Jr.; Evan Michel, Sandusky, Jr.

Most Outstanding Performer: Max Corso, Sandusky

Second team

Keeper: Ja; Torry Johnson, Sandusky, Sr.

Defender: James Matheson, Vermilion, Jr.; J.T. Johnson, Sandusky, Sr.; Trent Scott, Sandusky, Jr.

Midfielder: Cavan Leonardo, Vermilion, Sr.; Anthony Schafer, Perkins, Jr.; Garrison Smith, Norwalk, So.; Xavier Coppus, Columbian, So.

Attacker: Sam Myers, Perkins, Sr.; Brock Newsome, Clyde, Sr.; Will Gehlhausen, Norwalk, So.

Honorable mention

Keeper: Tyler Clark, Norwalk, Jr.

Defender: Jacob Baca, Norwalk, Jr.; Jack Coffman, Columbian, Sr.; Kade Newsome, Clyde, Jr.

Midfielder: Joey White, Sandusky, Jr.; Austin Obermeyer, Norwalk, Jr.; Victor Guzman, Clyde, Jr.

Attacker: Presley Eastlick, Columbian, Sr.; Shane Hohman, Clyde, Sr.; Lucas Salmon, Perkins, Sr.


Edison’s Janssen MOP

For the second straight year, the Edison boys soccer team boasts the top player in the SBC Bay Division.

Junior attacker Ian Janssen (12 goals, 20 assists) was voted the Most Outstanding Performer, the league announced on Monday. A year ago, Nick Lombardi earned the top award for the Chargers.

Also earning first team for Edison was senior defender Kolt Wikel and sophomore midfielder Dylan O’Dell. Honorable mention selections for Edison included freshman defender Jacob Robinson, junior midfielders Anferny DeLeon and Kaleb Yoder, and junior attacker Connor Romell.

Willard junior Joan Hernandez was first team at midfielder, while the Crimson Flashes had five selections to the second team.

They included senior goalkeeper Emmanuel Esparza, junior defender Josh Lopez, senior defender Eduardo Diaz, freshman attacker Omar Gomez-Davila and junior attacker Yoni Morales. Junior Josue Lopez was honorable mention as a midfielder.


First team

Keeper: Tyler Schafer, Huron, Jr.

Defender: Luke Wood, Huron, Jr.; Kolt Wikel, Edison, Sr.; John Robinson, Oak Harbor, Jr.

Midfielder: Drew Mamere, Huron, Sr.; Aidan Barton, Oak Harbor, Jr.; Dylan O’Dell, Edison, So.; Joan Hernandez, Willard, Jr.

Attacker: Ian Janssen, Edison, Jr.; Lucas Weber, Huron, Jr..; Mason VanNess, Oak Harbor, Jr.

Most Outstanding Performer: Ian Janssen, Edison

Second team

Keeper: Emmanuel Esparza, Willard, Sr.

Defender: Josh Lopez, Willard, Jr.; Eduardo Diaz, Willard, Sr.; Cole Bigelow, Old Fort, Jr.

Midfielder: Christian Scroggins, Huron, Jr.; Dustano Negrete, Old Fort, Jr.; Tristan Lacer, Oak Harbor, Sr.; Gavin Preston, Port Clinton, Jr.

Attacker: David Kupka, Old Fort, Sr.; Omar Gomez-Davila, Willard, Fr.; Yoni Morales, Willard, Jr.

Honorable mention

Keeper: Caleb Goldstein, Oak Harbor, Jr.

Defender: Seth Gossard, Port Clinton, Sr.; Matthew Wilson, Huron, Sr.; Jacob Robinson, Edison, Fr.

Midfielder: Anferny DeLeon, Edison, Jr.; Josue Lopez, Willard, Jr.; Kaleb Yoder, Edison, So.

Attacker: Jeremiah Green, Huron, Sr.; Conner Romoll, Edison, Jr.; Kieran Mackey, Port Clinton, So.

Norwalk Reflector Videos