Norwalk Reflector: Edison has six champs en route to sectional title

no avatar

Edison has six champs en route to sectional title

By Norwalk Reflector staff • Updated Feb 25, 2018 at 1:41 AM

PLYMOUTH — Edison had six individual champions crowned and another three finish as runners-up, dominating the field at Saturday’s Division III sectional tournament at Plymouth High School.

The Chargers’ 248.50 points were 85 more than second-place Crestview. St. Paul was fourth with 103 points, while Willard was sixth (90), Monroeville seventh (76), Western Reserve eighth (69), New London ninth (67) and South Central (22.4) 12th among the 13 teams.

The top four wrestlers from the 14 weight classes on Saturday advanced to next week’s district championships at Defiance.

The highlight of the weekend for Edison was 182-pound standout Sam Stoll. With a pin in just 1:42 over Plymouth’s Tony Vazquez in Saturday’s sectional title match, Stoll unofficially became the 16th wrestler in Ohio history to reach 200 career wins.

He is three wins away from tying Kyle Burns for the all-time program mark at Edison — which is what he will need to do in order to again advance to the state championships.

Freshman Casey Barnett moved to 51-2 on the year for Edison, winning the 106-pound title with a pin in 2:39 over South Central’s Jayden Strickland. Just above him at 113, Ray Adams — now 45-7 — beat Crestview’s Brent Eicher by pin in 1:11.

Meanwhile, Jordan Keegan (26-2) was the champion at 138 for the Chargers, topping Seneca East’s Teryn DeBold by a 14-2 major decision.

Also for Edison, Collin Mancuso (44-9) won the 152 title with a fall in 2:50 over Bucyrus’ Damen Parsell, while Jacob Brewer (38-5) beat Seneca East’s Rickie Lacy 17-2 at 170.

For third-place and host Plymouth, standout Seth Bailey improved to 45-1 by winning the title at 220. He needed just 3:01 to pin Western Reserve’s Zach Schlessman in the finals.

St. Paul had one individual champion, as Eric Crabbs (22-16) scored an 11-7 decision over Edison’s Trent Werner in the 132-pound title match.

Willard’s D.J. Stone (32-9) won the 160 weight class with a 10-7 decision over St. Paul’s Sam Meyer. Western Reserve’s Tyler Ramage (29-6) was the 145-pound champ, beating New London’s Austin Reed by an 11-5 decision.

The other area champion was Monroeville heavyweight Trey Leroux (30-1) — a 3-0 winner over Willard’s Raven Brant.

Edison’s Jakey Near (120) and Garrett Scott (126) finished second, as did Monroeville’s Tche Leroux at 195.

Also moving on to the district for Edison included Alex Crawford, who was third at 160 — and John-Mason Neer (195) and Tim Straka (220), who both placed fourth.

St. Paul’s Cam Caizzo was third at 170, where he scored a 1-0 win over Crestview’s Cade Rogers. Ben Meyer was also third at 182, while Myron Stoll (120) and Ryan Gross (126) each placed fourth for the Flyers.

Advancing for Willard included Juan Figueroa (third at 113) and Eli Jaramilo (fourth at 106). New London’s Mitchell Phillips was third at 195 by pinning Mason Neer in 1:54.

For Monroeville, Montgomery Walls took third at 220 with a 14-2 major decision over Edison’s Straka, while Daniel Smith was fourth at 152.

Western Reserve’s Aidan Fry-Silva was third at 126 when he edged St. Paul’s Gross by an 8-6 decision in overtime. Bailey Glavich was fourth at 138 for the Roughriders.

Plymouth advanced three other wrestlers with Bailey and Vazquez, including Zach Oney, who edged Monroeville’s Smith in a 5-4 decision for third at 152.

Also for the Big Red, Keith Tuttle (113) and Jacob Echelbarger (132) both placed fourth.

Wrestling will begin at the district in Defiance at 4 p.m. on Friday and 9:30 a.m. on Saturday. The top four placers from each weight class will advance to the state championships in Columbus.

Division III Plymouth sectional

Team standings: 1. Edison 248.5; 2. Crestview 163.5; 3. Plymouth 139; 4. St. Paul 103; 5. Seneca East 97; 6. Willard 90; 7. Monroeville 76; 8. W. Reserve 69; 9. New London 67; 10. Lucas 65; 11. Bucyrus 60.5; 12. South Central 22.5; 13. Buckeye Central 14.

First place

106: Casey Barnett (EDI) pinned Jayden Strickland (SC), 2:39

113: Ray Adams (EDI) pinned Brent Eicher (CVW), 1:11

120: Clay Eagle (CVW) pinned Jakey Near (EDI), 1:06

126: Dakota Blanton (CVW) pinned Garrett Scott (EDI), 1:08

132: Eric Crabbs (STP) dec. Trent Werner (EDI), 11-7

138: Jordan Keegan (EDI) maj. dec. Teryn DeBold (SE), 14-2

145: Tyler Ramage (WR) dec. Austin Reed (NL), 11-5

152: Collin Mancuso (EDI) pinned Damen Parsell (BUC), 2:50

160: DJ Slone (WIL) dec. Sam Meyer (STP), 10-7

170: Jacob Brewer (EDI) tech. fall Rickie Lacy (SE), 17-2

182: Sam Stoll (EDI) pinned Tony Vazquez (PLY), 1:42

195: Colton Campbell (CVW) dec. Tche Leroux (MON), 4-1

220: Seth Bailey (PLY) pinned Zach Schlessman (WR), 3:01

285: Trey Leroux (MON) dec. Raven Brant (WIL), 3-0

Third place

106: Noah Ulery (LUC) dec. Eli Jaramillo (WIL), 6-4

113: Juan Figueroa (WIL) pinned Keith Tuttle (PLY), 1:37

120: Trace Thomas (LUC) pinned Myron Stoll (STP), 3:52

126: Aidan Fry-Silva (WR) dec. Ryan Gross (STP), 8-6 OT

132: Dakota Laughlin (SE) pinned Jacob Echelbarger (PLY), 1:54

138: Austin Fulton (BUC) dec. Bailey Glavich (WR), 6-3

145: Levi Kibler (CVW) pinned Weslyn Adkins (LUC), 2:10

152: Zach Oney (PLY) dec. Daniel Smith (MON), 5-4

160: Alex Crawford (EDI) dec. Logan Knipp (LUC), 10-4

170: Cam Caizzo (STP) dec. Cade Rogers (CVW), 1-0

182: Ben Meyer (STP) inj. default Chris Hughes (CVW)

195: Mitchell Phillips (NL) pinned John-Mason Neer (EDI), 1:54

220: Montgomery Walls (MON) maj. dec. Tim Straka (EDI), 14-2

285: Lane Fry (CVW) dec. Jacob Lambert (BUC), 4-2

Norwalk Reflector Videos