no avatar

Five from Norwalk named All-SBC Lake first team

By Norwalk Reflector staff • Updated Oct 26, 2017 at 5:34 PM

After an unbeaten record in conference play, the Norwalk girls soccer team was rewarded with five players on the Sandusky Bay Conference Lake division first team, it was announced on Tuesday.

Kaelyn Harkness was a unanimous choice as the Most Outstanding Performer of the Lake division after a record-setting season for Norwalk (13-5, 8-0). She finished with 73 points, as her 32 goals tied the program record for goals in a single season (Brooke Seitz, 2006).

Harkness finished with 77 career goals, third-most in program history. Her 22 assists are seventh in a career at Norwalk.

Midfielder Maddie Diederick was also a unanimous selection to the first team. She scored 13 goals and had four assists for 30 points this season. Coley Branum joined her on first team at midfielder after 33 points (12 goals/9 assists).

Kendall Bigler (26 points) was also a first-team choice. She finished with six goals and 14 assists, the latter which is the third-most assists in a single season at Norwalk.

Three defenders also earned recognition for Norwalk, which had 12 shutouts this season. Mara Jaworski (12 points) earned first team honors, while Quinn Jaworski (four goals, one assist) was second team defender and Sydney Castle (73 saves) was honorable mention.

Edison lands three on Bay first team

After an 8-8-2 season, the Edison girls program had three players earn All-SBC Bay division first team honors.

Leading scorer Savanna Smith, who had 19 goals and 10 assists (48 points), was a first team attacker. Midfielder Piper Nickoli (10 goals, 3 assists) was also first team along with defender Natalie White.

Goalkeeper Elizabeth Pruitt (170 saves) was second team, along with attacker Hannah Ceja (5 goals, 4 assists), midfielder Brooke Yates (2 goals, 3 assists) and defender Josie Soviak.


All-Sandusky Bay Conference girls soccer teams

Lake division

First team

Goalkeeper: Maddie Brisendine, Columbian; Allie Schuster, Perkins.

Defender: Mara Jaworski, Norwalk; Lexie Wiedenheft, Perkins; Shantaris Brown, Sandusky; Hayley Robinette, Clyde.

Midfielder: Bridget Daniel, Columbian; Maddie Diederick, Norwalk; Lydia Arnold, Columbian; Hailey Yaratch, Perkins; Coley Branum, Norwalk.

Attacker: Kaelyn Harkness, Norwalk; Molly Franklin, Sandusky; Kendall Bigler, Norwalk.

Second team

Goalkeeper: MJ Obermeyer, Clyde.

Defender: Quinn Jaworski, Norwalk; Emilia Andrews, Perkins; Hannah Elchert, Clyde; Rachel Repp, Columbian.

Midfielder: Jordy Roberts, Clyde; Chloe Bier, Sandusky; Mia Knupke, Sandusky; Lexie Wilson, Perkins.

Attacker: Taylor Krzyzak, Columbian; Savannah Miller, Clyde; Olivia Howard, Perkins.

Honorable mention

Sam Alexander, Clyde; Sydney Castle, Norwalk; Annabelle, Gross, Perkins; Sydney Hohman, Clyde; Nancy Siegel, Perkins.

Most Outstanding Performer: Kaelyn Harkness, Norwalk.

Bay division

First team

Goalkeeper: Cora Mamere, Huron.

Defender: Corinne Steuk, Huron; Seree Petersen, Oak Harbor; Erica Winters, Oak Harbor; Natalie White, Edison.

Midfielder: Kayleigh Penton, Vermilion; Baylor Fortune, Huron; Kenzie Huntebrinker, Oak Harbor; Abby Eoff, Oak Harbor; Piper Nickoli, Edison.

Attacker: Hayden Petee, Huron; Kennedee Weirich, Oak Harbor; Savanna Smith, Edison.

Second team

Goalkeeper: Elizabeth Pruitt, Edison.

Defender: Lauren Maki, Vermilion; Kelly Hughes, Huron; Sierra Robinette, Port Clinton; Chelsea Rathbun, Oak Harbor; Josie Soviak, Edison.

Midfielder: Blair Petee, Huron; Maddie Waller, Vermilion; Delayna Laurel, Port Clinton; Brooke Yates, Edison.

Attacker: Riley Allen, Vermilion; Emily Endlish, Huron; Hanna Ceja, Edison; Brooke Gibbons, Port Clinton.

Honorable mention

Emma Golling, Huron; Mattison Koskela, Port Clinton; Sam Sneider, Port Clinton; Macy Urig, Vermilion.

Most Outstanding Performer: Kayleigh Penton, Vermilion.

Norwalk Reflector Videos