no avatar

May 6 primary ballot finalized

Scott Seitz2 • Feb 17, 2014 at 2:07 PM

The May 6 primary ballot has now been finalized after candidates battled deadlines and the weather earlier this month.

The race for Huron County commissioner will feature a Republican primary between incumbent Joe Hintz and challenger Bob Morgan.

Democrat Dennis Stieber also has filed petitions in the commissioner race and will face the Hintz-Morgan winner in November.

Independent candidates have until May 5 to file, so they could throw a curveball into all races, including the commissioners.

The 13th Senate district race will also feature a primary, this one in the Democratic Party.

Eric Kaple, of Willard, will square off against Marcus Madison, of Elyria, with the winner facing Republican incumbent Gayle Manning in November in the 13th district.

The 57th House district might seem familiar and that's because it features the same three candidates who ran two years.

Republican incumbent Terry Boose, of Norwalk, Democrat Matt Lark, of Collins, and Libertarian Robert Sherwin, of Columbia Station, have all filed again.

Republican incumbent Judge Timothy Cardwell is the only candidate to file in the Huron County Juvenile and Probate Court race.

Democratic incumbent Roland Tkach is the lone candidate to file in the race for Huron County auditor.

"I'm very grateful and humbled," Tkach said Friday.

Tkach knows an Independent can still file.

"We all know that, that's for sure," he said.

"We still have many, many challenges before us," Tkach said, looking ahead.

"We need to encourage businesses to bring jobs to the area and we all need to work together to get this done," he added.

Nine issues will be included on the May 6 ballot.

Highlighting that ballot is a 4.95-mill, five-year additional tax levy submitted by Norwalk City Schools for emergency requirements.

The city of Norwalk will have two charter amendments on the May 6 ballot. The first would change city council terms from two to four years, while the second would adjust the replacement process for police and fire chiefs.

In Clarksfield Township, voters will decide on a 0.4-mill, five-year renewal levy for current expenses.

Also in Clarksfield Township, voters will consider a 0.9-mill, five-year renewal levy for general construction, reconstruction, resurfacing, and repair of streets, roads and bridges.

The Tri-Community Ambulance District has placed a 0.75-mill, three-year renewal levy for ambulance and emergency medical services. Voting on this issue will be residents in Greenwich Township, Greenwich village and Ripley Township.

Wakeman village has a 1 percent income tax renewal on the primary ballot. This is for general operating expenses and covers five years.

Willard City Schools has placed a 5.4-mill, five-year renewal on the ballot for emergency requirements.

Also, the Wellington Exempted Village School District is placing a 5.27-mill, 10-year renewal on the ballot for emergency requirements. Voting on this issue in Huron County is part of Clarksfield Township.

Recommended for You

    Norwalk Reflector Videos