no avatar

People At Work

Norwalk Reflector Staff • Oct 29, 2015 at 12:52 PM

James Thill/52/Monroeville

Immediate family: Wife, Ramona; two daughters, Lindsey and Amanda.

Education: Norwalk High School, 1973; Lorain Community College, 1975; Eastern Kentucky University, 1977.

Occupation: Retired from Ohio state Highway Patrol; substitute teacher at EHOVE.

What was your first job?: Price Construction in Norwalk; $3 per hour, summer job.

What is your dream job? I had it with the Highway Patrol.

The most challenging part of my job is: Handling fatal crashes; talking to victim's family.

Most rewarding? Then helping people on the highways; now knowing students gain knowledge from my being in the classroom.

Biggest pet peeve? Procrastination why put things off? It drives me nuts.

Biggest guilty pleasure? Cookies I'm a cookie monster.

Most embarrassing part of your CD collection: I don't have one.

Favorite childhood memory: Parents took me out to Yellowstone National Park camping. Always wanted to go back.

Best thing about living in Monroeville? Small village. You get to know everybody.

Biggest complaint? No grocery store.

What do you like to do when not working? My wife and I like to camp. I fish and hunt.

What's been the best car you've ever owned? My wife's '77 Thunderbird. It had all the bells and whistles.

How do you get off the phone with a telemarketer? Just hang up.

What do you do for exercise? Walk three miles and bike frequently. All determined by weather.

What's your favorite recreational activity? Have a motorhome and like to be outdoors.

Name your favorite place to eat: Damons; Steak-n-Shake.

In high school, everyone thought I: Was an average Joe.

The best advice I ever got was: Respect other people.

My dream house would have: One level.

Recommended for You