no avatar

PEOPLE AT WORK - Dan Hopkins

Norwalk Reflector Staff • Oct 28, 2015 at 3:49 PM

Dan Hopkins, 16, of Norwalk.

Immediate family: mom, Kelly; dad, Ken; sister, Dayle, 17; brothers, Michael, 13 and James, 12.

Education: EHOVE Culinary Arts.

Occupation: Almost a year at KFC as a crew member. I do it all: cook, front (drive through) cashier, lobby (clean), all jobs associated with preparing and selling food to customers.

What was your first job?: Reflector news carrier for $2.60 a house per week.

Dumbest customer request or question? One drive through customer asked for pizza.

Most embarrassing moment at work? Slipping on the floor I caught myself. I thought the box I was crushing was already flat/stable but it wasn't.

What is your dream job? I want to be a chef and open my own restaurant or a criminal law lawyer, I haven't decided yet.

The most challenging part of my job is: Cleaning up. It has a thorough cleaning of the fryers. It is a messy job.

Most rewarding?: Getting a raise. I got it about a month ago and make almost $7 an hour, which helps pay for my car and gas.

Most unique habit: Compulsive cleaner I'm always trying to make things neater and cleaner.

Biggest pet peeve? When customers are rude.

Most embarrassing part of your CD collection: Don't have an embarrassing part.

Favorite childhood memory: Bending over a broken sprinkler head to investigate it, I was surprised by a face full of mud.

Best thing about living in Norwalk? It snows here and I like to snowboard.

Biggest complaint? Weather changes all the time, it's hot one day, cold the next.

What do you like to do when not working? Hang out with friends, go to movies.

What's been the best car you've ever owned? My current one, a '95 Blazer.

How do you get off the phone with a telemarketer? Just hang up it's very bad.

What do you do for exercise? Work out and lift weights three times a week.

What's your favorite recreational activity? Snowboarding like going downhill getting snow in face.

How do you relieve stress? Lift weights.

Name your favorite place to eat: Octavios in Camarillo, Calif., when I lived there. An Italian restaurant.

What's your favorite song and why?: I don't have one.

The best advice I ever got was: Girls come and go but education will be with you forever.

People would be surprised to know that I: am very athletic most people think I'm lazy.

My dream house would have: Two story, four bedroom, big living room with a nice kitchen.

A movie or play that everyone should see is: "Night at the Museum" because it's really fun, imaginative good for all ages.

Recommended for You

    Norwalk Reflector Videos