no avatar

OGT Facts

Norwalk Reflector Staff • Oct 29, 2015 at 12:45 PM

The Ohio Graduation Test is a five part exam that, starting with the class of '07, all students must pass in order to graduate. The test covers reading, writing, mathematics, science and social studies.

Students first take the OGT spring of their sophomore year and can continue to take it in the fall and spring of their junior and senior years and during the summer. Students have two and a half hours to complete each section, which consists of about 35 multiple-choice questions and up to eight written response questions.

Students who do not pass all five parts of the OGT can still graduate if they meet the following requirements:

Pass four of the five tests and fail the fifth test by no more than 10 scale score points

Have a 97 percent attendance rate each of the last four years

Have not been expelled in the last four years

Have a 2.5 grade point average in the failed subject

Participated in any intervention programs offered by the school

Obtained letters of recommendation from each teacher in the subject area not passed as well as the high school principal.

Source: The Ohio Department of Education

Recommended for You

    Norwalk Reflector Videos