no avatar

College news

Norwalk Reflector Staff • Oct 29, 2015 at 12:45 PM

The following students have been named to the dean's list at Ashland University for the spring 2007

semester: Katrina Klein, of, Bellevue, junior, music education; Jennifer Valko, of Bellevue, senior,

integrated language arts; Timothy Eustace, Collins, senior, accounting; Courtney Asmondy, Greenwich, senior, history; Robin Barre, Greenwich, senior, accounting; Mariagrace Flint, Greenwich, sophomore, music education; Laura Hord, Greenwich, senior, biology; Andrew Rowe, Greenwich, sophomore, computer science; Laureen Thompson, Greenwich, senior, political science/history; Kathleen Matter, Monroeville, senior music education; Eric Mitchell, New London, senior, early childhood education; Kameron Perry, New London, sophomore, computer science; Ashley Lund, North Fairfield, sophomore, French/Spanish; Melissa Siman, North Fairfield, senior, political science; Mara Lee Albright, Norwalk, senior, foods and nutrition; Timothy Bray, Norwalk, senior, middle grades education; Bradley Buckingham, Norwalk, senior, finance; Kendra Kromer, Norwalk, junior, political science/international studies; Kendall Marchyshyn, Norwalk, senior, accounting; Amy Crist, Nova, junior, early childhood education; Logan Estep, Nova, senior, religion; Kristen Guenther, Nova, senior, middle grades education; Alyssa Strayer, Nova, freshman, accounting; David Dauch, Wakeman, junior, business management; Kevin Viock, Wakeman, junior, intervention specialist; Christopher Buurma, Willard, senior, physics/math; Sheri Courtright, Willard, sophomore, accounting; Holly Hammersmith, Willard, sophomore, early childhood education; Elisa Henke, Willard, senior, sophomorecial work; Matthew Moore, Willard, senior, business management; Michelle Oney, Willard, senior, criminal justice; Dillon Rands, Willard, senior, business management.

Erin Bovia, daughter of Rolland and Angela Bovia, was awarded honors by earning a grade-point average of 3.3 or higher for the spring semester at Mercy College of Northwest Ohio.

She is a 2006 graduate of St. Paul High School and is now pursuing a radiology degree at Mercy College.

Nancy Widman, daughter of John Widman, was awarded honors by earning a grade-point average of 3.3 or better in the spring semester at Mercy College of Northwest Ohio.

She is a 1970 graduate from Attica High School and is now pursuing a science degree in health information technology at Mercy Hospital.

Malone College has announced the spring 2007 dean's list. To be named to the dean's list, one must carry a minimum of 12 credit hours and receive a grade-point average of 3.5.

The following local residents have been named to the list: Meaghan Elizabeth Timmons of Berlin Heights, Julie Elaine Finley of Collins, and Daniel Bryan Wearsch of Norwalk.

Emmett Robinson, the son of Mike and Denise Robinson of Greenwich, was named to the Cedarville University dean's honor list for the 2007 spring semester.

He majored in trumpet performance and political science, and graduated May 2 with highest honors.

The following students have been named to the dean's list for spring semester at Baldwin-Wallace College, according to Dr. Mary Lou Higgersophomoren, Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of the College:

Emily Mastroianni of Monroeville, Randi Gross of New London, Kristin Ciersezwski of Norwalk, Stephen Hunter of Norwalk, and Adam Upchurch of Wakeman.

Students who received at least a 3.5 grade-point average for seven or more graded hours in a single semester are named to the dean's list.

Gleaner Life Insurance sophomoreciety Scholarship Foundation has announced Kala Geiss, daughter of Cory and Margaret Geiss, of Norwalk, as the recipient of a $400 Bennett Family Book Scholarship award. Geiss was one of 120 students selected to receive a 2007 scholarship award from Gleaner Life Insurance sophomoreciety Scholarship Foundation.

The 2007 Western Reserve High School graduate will attend Bowling Green State University majoring in secondary education.

In addition to extraordinary academic accomplishments, Geiss has been involved in many extracurricular activities.

A $750 Instrumentation, Systems and Automation sophomoreciety Scholarship went to Nick Finley of Collins, the son of Mr. and Mrs. Dave Finley. A senior majoring in electronics and computer technology at Bowling Green State University, he is a 2001 graduate of Western Reserve High School.

The Flexible Payment Scholarship, worth $1,000, went to Isaac Whitney, a junior majoring in construction management at BGSU. The son of Richard and Toni Whitney, he is a 2004 graduate of Ashland High School.

Stephanie Heiden, daughter of Gregg and Linda Heiden of Norwalk have announced Stephanie graduated from Bowling Green State University on May 5. Stephanie completed a bachelor of science degree in education majoring in early childhood education. Stephanie graduated from BGSU with honors, summa cum laude. She made the dean's list seven semesters and was the recipient of the James Kight Memorial Scholorship award.

She is certified to teach school to students from preschool to third grade.

Heiden was recently awarded a graduate assistantship for the 2007-2008 academic year with the Center for Evaluation Services from Bowling Green State University. She attended Bowsher Senior High School in Toledo.

Sean M. Calhoun of Wakeman has the made the dean's list for this past term at the University of Northwestern Ohio. He earned a grade-point average of at least 3.50 or higher for the term. Calhoun is the son of Steve and Donna Calhoun of Wakeman.

Norwalk residents Jeffrey A. Ciersezwski and Ryan Thomas Lewniewski graduated cum laude from Baldwin-Wallace College May 6 during the college's 157th undergraduate commencement ceremonies.

Ciersezwski received a bachelor of arts degree with a major in criminal justice.

Lewniewski received a bachelor of science degree with majors in finance and computer information systems.

Two recent high school graduates were recipients of the sixth annual scholarship awards from the Huron County Chapter of the Retired Teachers Association (HCRTA).

Scholarships are given to encourage and assist candidates pursuing careers in the field of education.

Erica Bryant of Norwalk High School and Joe Scheid of Monroeville High School were chosen from a field of outstanding applicants, according to Mary Jean Hammann, Scholarship Committee chairperson. These students have been accepted to the college of their choice and will well represent the chapter as future teachers.

Scholarship applications are available each spring through guidance departments of the public and parochial high school in Huron County.

To place an item in College News, send the information to the Norwalk Reflector, 61 E. Monroe St., Norwalk, Ohio 44857. The information also can be sent to the Reflector via e-mail at news@goreflector.com.

Recommended for You

    Norwalk Reflector Videos