no avatar

BLAST FROM THE PAST Two Army posts to become one Wooster Boalt

Norwalk Reflector Staff • Oct 29, 2015 at 12:48 PM

JUNE 30, 1902

The top stories in The Daily Reflector on this date 105 years ago:

Two Army posts to be one and chartered as the Wooster Boalt Post

One hundred and twenty-eight Grand Army men of Norwalk have signed the muster roll for the charter of the new consolidated Post to be known as the Wooster Boalt Post and the paper with the signatures attached has gone on to Columbus, the state department headquarters, to be acted on in the way of granting a new charter.

The new post, like the two single ones which have been consolidated, will be named in honor of two as brave and gallant officers as ever wore the blue or fought under the proud old flag Liet. Colonel Moses F. Wooster of the 101st O.V.I. and Captain Fred H. Boalt, of the 55th O.V.I. The following are the names of the members of the two posts who have signed for the new charter:

M.F. Wooster Post

L.A. Amsden, W.E. Akers, G. Bauman, J.L. Barker, R.A. Bloomer, Geo. F. Brady, D.M. Bragdon, P.C. Breckenridge, F.J. Brown, W.H. Cleveland, Francis Cordin, H.S. Clapp, J.D. Cook, S.E. Crawford, J.W. Cyphers, L.H. Derby, David Doty and Lewis Fiesinger.

Chas. Fisher, P.A. Flaharty, N.L. Gebhart, A.S. Gilson, Eugen Griffin, Allen Haddock, J.L. Heath, Wm. Himberger, W.G. Holiday, Chas. Hopkins, Benj. Hopkins, C.L. Howe, S.T. Howe, Lewis Johnson, S.H. Johnson, Melvin Jameson, Geo. Krock, E.P. Lee, J.W. Lee, W.C. Lemon, W.Q. Lockwood, Wm. Lohr and W.B. Lyke.

P.H. Mahan, G.T. May, Zadoc Martin, Edwin Claflin, Jas. McGuckin, J.H. Miller, Michael Monlett, S.D. Morse, Wm. Myers, A.B. Neville, H.C. Nickerson, A.J. Noland, T.B. Patch, M.F. Pettit, J.W. Rexford, Augustus Rice, Wm. Rhinemiller, Seneca Ronk, R.K. Hood and Wm. Schubert.

Eugene Smith, J.F. Smith, M.M. Smith, C.B. Streeter, J.H. Sprague, J.W. Thorley, S.T.A. Van Sciver, John Wahl, L.A. West, W.W. Wells, C.P. Wickham, F.C. Wickham, W.S. Wickham, J.W. Whidden, O.W. Williams, T.S. Williams, S.A. Wildman, J.S. White and E.J. Worthing.

F.H. Boalt Post

Geor. B. Sheffield, H.B. Hyde, S.G. Evarts, W.H. Cline, Geo. W. Curtis, A.W. Clawson, H.F. Bowers, T.C. Taylor, Teo. Brown, G.M. Wood, John Burt, W.R. Perrin, W.C. Wright, Wm. Stark, J.M. Chaffee, Albert Blish and L.B. Mesnard.

Geor. H. Bailey, E.L. Husted, E.G. Boughton, Milo McCrillis, Arthur Finnegan, W.B. Franklin, Joseph Zuber, henry Mack, Jacob Miller Jr., A.J. Chapin, F.W. Roscoe, Frank Book, G.B. Clawson, G.F. Wilsey, R.E. Tillinghast, E.R. Kiney, G.C. Humphrey and E.J. Hoyt.

The cars are now running

The Cleveland, Elyria & Western electric railway is ready for traffic between Norwalk and Birmingham and it is expected that cars will begin running regularly between the two towns tomorrow, Tuesday, July 1st.

The trolley wire was put up through to Birmingham Sunday night and the wire car, which had been hauled by horses came back to Norwalk by electric power, making the 18 mile run in 15 minutes. This morning, car No. 51 came to Norwalk via Lorain and the Lake Shore electric and at nine o'clock it started for Berlin Heights, which it reached safely.

Norwalk couples celebrate the ninth anniversary

of their wedding day

A most delightful social function was given Saturday evening by Judge and Mrs. F.H. Jones and Mr. and Mrs. C.A. Paul, the occasion being the celebration of the ninth wedding anniversary of these well known couples. About seventy guests, including a number from out of the city, were in attendance and after being regaled with a delightful dinner, spent the remainder of the evening until a late hour in dancing and card playing.

Compiled by Andy Prutsok

Recommended for You

    Norwalk Reflector Videos