no avatar

4-H News

Norwalk Reflector Staff • Oct 28, 2015 at 3:50 PM

Northside Country Kids

The club held its first meeting of the year at St. Alphonsus Church March 18. Enrollment and cookbook sale information was passed out to members. Election of officers was held and 2007 officers are Alyssa Warner, president; Jenna Schafer, vice-president; Kimberly Zeigler, secretary; Kayla Freriks, treasurer; Meagan Music, reporter; Sarah Giles, health; Kammi Little, safety; and Kaylee Stanley, recreation.

The Cloverbuds will take turns as flag bearers. There were 14 returning members and six new members present, Holdan A., Mallorie and Chelsea G., Andrew C., and Tyson P. and one new Cloverbud, Simon G. members also welcomed three new advisors. The club decided their club project this year will be fishing. The next meeting will be held at 6:30 p.m. April 1.

Monroeville Fortune Finders

The second club meeting was held at the St. Joseph's Social Center March 6. This meeting was called to order by Jake Schwab. Demonstrations were given by Jake Schwab on "How to do a Demonstration," Christopher Ryan about "Leopard Geckos," Kevin Boehler on "Comparison of Wood Adhesives," and Andrew Haughawout on "How to Handle a Basketball." The Huron County 4-H Committee is selling Taste of Home cookbooks. This fundraiser was discussed as new business.

At this meeting the election of officers took place with Ashley Geis elected president; vice president, Christopher Ryan; secretary, George Latterman; Sam Schwab, treasurer; Kevin Boehler, news reporter; Andrew Haughawout, health officer; Austin Martin, recycling officer and the recreation officers are Katie Gies and Amy Ruffing. The next meeting of the Monroeville Fortune Finders will be at 6:30 p.m. Tuesday at the St. Joseph Social Center.

Kevin Boehler, reporter

Lyme Clever Clovers

The first club meeting was held Feb. 27. Members introduced themselves to everyone. Information packets were passed out to members. Members also now have information on the cookbook sale and frozen food sale benefiting the Huron County 4-H committee.

Members decided to promote 4-H next week during Ohio 4-H week by wearing their 4-H shirts to school and also give presentations about 4-H to third- and sixth-grade classes at Lyme School and inviting them to join the club. A 4-H bulletin board was also put up at Lyme.

Jessica Brown, reporter

Applications for the Christopher T. Norman Memorial Scholarship are available from county Extension Offices in Defiance, Erie, Fulton, Henry, Huron, Lorain, Lucas, Williams and Wood counties. One $500 scholarship will be awarded.

Applicants must be current 4-H members and must be a 2007 graduating high school senior. Applicants enrolling at The Ohio State University, OSU branch campuses or the Agricultural Technical Institute (ATI) will be given preference. Applicants must apply, be accepted and attend a college or technical school before the scholarship is distributed.

Two letters of recommendation, preferably from instructors or employers, must be included with the application. The completed application must be mailed to Pam Norman by April 13.

Christopher T. Norman was a 10 year 4-H member in Huron County. He received many awards, including being named Junior Fair King in 1989. Chris attended ATI for one year before transferring to The Ohio State University in Columbus.

While at Ohio State, Chris joined the Delta Upsilon Fraternity and became a member of Undergraduate Student Government, representing the College of Agriculture (now the College of Food, Agriculture and Environmental Science). Chris went on to be elected President of The Ohio State University Undergraduate Student Government and received an Outstanding Senior award.

Chris had a successful 4 1/2 year career as Organization Director with the Ohio Farm Bureau in northwest Ohio. Chris was attending Palm Beach Atlantic College, nearing completion of his MBA, at the time of his death.

In an attempt to recognize Chris' accomplishments, the Norman Family established the Christopher T. Norman Memorial Scholarship. The scholarship is administered by the Huron County 4-H Committee.

Recommended for You

    Norwalk Reflector Videos