no avatar

'High School Musical 2' song debuts Friday on Radio Disney

Norwalk Reflector Staff • Oct 29, 2015 at 12:44 PM

Radio Disney will world premiere "What Time Is It," the first song from the highly anticipated Disney Channel Original Movie "High School Musical 2," at 8 a.m. Friday during the Planet Premiere feature.

The anthem, written by Matthew Gerrard and Robbie Nevil, will be highlighted throughout the day, airing once during each airshift. It features Zac Efron, Vanessa Hudgens, Ashley Tisdale, Lucas Grabeel, Corbin Bleu and Monique Coleman, the cast of the sequel which is set to debut Friday, Aug. 17 on Disney Channel.

The Cleveland-based WWMK 1260 AM station is the closest Radio Disney affiliate. Radio Disney also is available on a digital cable television's Music Choice channel and XM/DIRECTV.

"Based on the ongoing enthusiasm Radio Disney listeners have for the first 'High School Musical' soundtrack, we know they are eagerly awaiting songs from the sequel and we are thrilled to meet their demands with the exclusive premiere of this track, the first of our many exclusive song debuts this summer," said Robin Jones, Vice President Programming, Radio Disney.

On July 17, Walt Disney Records will release a commercial CD single of "What Time Is It." This marks the first time in over a decade that the label has featured an in-store retail single. The song will also be available on Walt Disney Records' "High School Musical 2" soundtrack in stores on Aug. 14.

"What Time Is It" is the rousing anthem track that sets the stage for "High School Musical 2," picking up where the first movie left off. "High School Musical 2" director/choreographer Kenny Ortega and writer Peter Barsocchini collaborated closely on creating both the sequel's script and ideas for the songs. "We knew that at the beginning of movie we wanted to reintroduce our characters. So once the school bell rings on the last day, we wanted a song about what it feels like to start your first day of summer and what they each have in mind."

Songwriters Gerrard and Nevil wrote the iconic "We're All In This Together" and "Start Of Something New" for the soundtrack to "High School Musical" which was the No. 1 album of 2006. For the sequel's opening song, the two hearkened back to their own school days to capture the celebratory feeling as school lets out and summer vacation begins. At Ortega's request, Gerrard and Nevil included the entire cast and infused a percussive, rhythmic feel to the music.

Matthew Gerrard has written and produced songs for Kelly Clarkson, Melissa Etheridge, Smash Mouth, Hilary Duff, Jesse McCartney, Jessica Simpson, JoJo and Nick Carter. Gerrard has also written for several Disney Channel projects including songs for "Hannah Montana," "Jump In!," and "The Cheetah Girls 2," which all debuted Top 5 on the Billboard Top 200 album chart.

Robbie Nevil has written and produced Destiny's Child, Baby Face, Melissa Etheridge, Stevie Wonder, Ashley Simpson, Smash Mouth, Jesse McCartney and Luther Vandross. He has also written and produced songs for Disney Channel's "Hannah Montana," "The Cheetah Girls'" and "Jump In!" as well as writing on the Gold certified soundtrack for "That's So Raven."

Radio Disney is a 24/7 radio network devoted to kids, tweens and families. Kids help pick the music that is played and are encouraged to interact via a toll-free line to the Radio Disney studio. The network's current playlist, driven by listener requests and representing major record labels, includes recording artists Miley Cyrus as Hannah Montana, Jonas Brothers, Vanessa Hudgens, Rihanna, Hilary Duff, Bowling for Soup, B5, Corbin Bleu, Raven-Symone, Kelly Clarkson, The Cheetah Girls, JoJo, Everlife, and Jesse McCartney.

Recommended for You