Leave Feedback

no avatar

Conservation awards issued

Norwalk Reflector Staff • Oct 28, 2015 at 3:45 PM

The Huron County Soil and Water Conservation District recently celebrated their annual banquet at the Huron County Fairgrounds.

The top conservation awards for the past year where awarded to Andy and John Liles for the "Cooperators of the Year" award and to Royden Smith for the "Lake Erie Buffer" award.

Other awards throughout the evening included:

Kevin Kaltenbach, of Bellevue and a junior at Hocking Hills college, received a $1,000 scholarship for his continuing education in the conservation field of study.

Bob Johannsen was recognized for 25 years on the HCSWCD board of directors.

Monroeville FFA Chapter was presented with the first place plaque for having the best rural soil judging team in the county.

Bellevue FFA Chapter earned first place for the best urban soil judging team in the county.

Willard FFA Chapter received a plaque for showcasing the best conservation booth at the 2006 Huron County Fair.

Judy Herbkersman received an award for raising and exhibiting the best overall hay bale at the 2006 Huron County Fair.

Zachary Grim, a second grader at Norwalk's League Elementary School, was presented with an award for winning the annual conservation poster contest within the county. His school also received a red maple tree the HCSWCD planted at the school for his honor.

The district annual rainfall report was presented to those at the banquet. This year's annual rainfall during the growing season averaged 23.8 inches of rain across the county. Last year the overall average was 22.20 inches.

An election took place for a HCSWCD board position; Bill Lund retained his position on the board for another term.

Recommended for You