no avatar

Edison National Honor Society celebrates students' achievements

By Norwalk Reflector staff • Apr 13, 2019 at 6:00 PM

MILAN — The faculty and staff of Edison High School celebrated the achievements of 17 seniors and 24 juniors at their annual National Honor Society induction April 4.

The ceremony featured senior speeches on the National Honor Society emblem and its four pillars — scholarship, leadership, service and character. The seniors also took time to thank their parents for all the support they have given throughout their education.

“This recognition is the highest honor you can achieve at Edison High School,” adviser Amy Cull said.

Twenty-four students were inducted into full membership after meeting the criteria for scholarship, leadership, service and character set forth by the constitution of the EHS chapter of the National Honor Society.

“These students will continue their work next year by continuing to uphold these high standards,” Cull said. “The ceremony was also the culmination of a year of hard work for the seniors as they did individual service, continued a high level of scholarship and worked together for a group service project.”

Next year’s officers will be president Piper Nickoli, vice president Kaylee Ries, treasurer Adam Frederick and secretary Halle Patton.

The seniors this year choose to help launch and promote a new program at Edison Local Schools titled “Do RIGHT,” which stands for responsibility, integrity, growth mindset, healthy living and time management.

The group started by meeting this summer to create videos to introduce this program to the students. They finished their project by hosting a “Do RIGHT” week in February to continue to promote it.

“During this week, the organization made more videos and themed each day with one of the core values of RIGHT, with activities that went along with that value. The week ended with a quarterly Do RIGHT Bingo game for all students who had be caught ‘doing RIGHT,’” Cull said.

Leading this year’s seniors were president Isabel Chasney, vice president Lexi Weyer, treasurer Alana Fidler and secretary Elisa Villa.

The graduating senior members in the Edison chapter of the National Honor Society are: Caleb Bissell, Chasney (president), Fidler (treasurer), Keagan Grames, Molly Houser, Jonathon Hrivnak, Vernon Kluding, Melissa Kuhl, Miranda Morley, Kristen Neate, Holly Racioppi, Samantha Smith, Nisha Solanki, Jessica Stoll, Villa (secretary), Hannah Vitaz and Weyer (vice president).

The inductees are: James Anderson, Travin Baughman, Haylee Bock, Kyla Brown, Sarah Bursley, Hannah Coon, Micaela Coon, Frederick (treasurer-elect), Lili Grant, Briana Keyser, Halina Krul, Daniel Lambert, Jacob Lombardi, Cooper McIntyre, Kaitlin Nealey, Nickoli (president-elect), Patton (secretary-elect), Jordan Pruitt, Ries (vice president-elect), Emily Vogus, Brandon Ware, Mackenzie Wilson, Abigail Woodyard and Broderick Yost.

Norwalk Reflector Videos