no avatar

Pair of individual titles, eight teams advance highlights district championships

By Norwalk Reflector staff • Updated Oct 22, 2017 at 12:42 PM

GALION — St. Paul’s Jared Arnold (16:33.86) and Lily Dowdell (19:33.25) were both Division III District 2 champions at Saturday’s district cross country championships at Amanns Reservoir.

The Firelands Conference champion New London boys and Western Reserve girls also each won the District 1 and District 2 team championships.

Other teams advancing included the New London girls and St. Paul boys.

The top four teams and individuals that finish in the top 16 advanced to Saturday’s regional tournament at Hedges-Boyer Park in Tiffin.

Arnold’s teammate, St. Paul junior Noah Avandano, was runner-up in a time of 16:37.76. Also for the Flyers, Zack Stine was 15th (17:45.39), followed by Sam Siosworth (18:03.49) in 21st, and Luke Ceccoli (19:35.07) in 53rd. 

For New London, Carson Coey (16:38.18) and Curtis Joppeck (16:53.19) were third and fourth respectively. Cole Kropka (17:46.14) was 17th, Court Britt (18:08.82) was 26th and Mitchell Joppeck (18:27.10) was 31st.

Also advancing from the District 1 race was Plymouth’s Levi Anderson, who finished 11th in 17:28.92.

In District 2 boys, Western Reserve’s Trevor Tucker was fifth (17:09.18) to qualify, while his teammate Breckyn Hunter placed 16th (18:01.08) to make it to regionals.

For the Roughrider girls, Tabi Pausch was eighth (21:49.74), Brooke Perkins was ninth (21:52.05) and Aliyah Perez was 14th (22:06.77).

Other key point scorers for Western included McKenna Woodruff (22:22.48) in 20th, Chelsey Shawver (22:28.01) in 23rd and Ashlyn Barnhart (23:41.45) in 39th.

Also in District 2, Ally Brown was 15th for St. Paul with a time of 22:07.71, and she will join Dowdell at the regionals next week.

In the girls District 1 race, New London’s Kaylin Williams was second (19:56.06) to Huron’s Grace Moser.

Hopewell-Loudon (78), Huron (81), New London (85) and St. Mary Central Catholic (108) were the top four teams.

Also for the Wildcats, Gabrielle Osterland was seventh (20:45.59). Abigail Good (21:54.36) was 22nd to help score key points, while Dana Gustely (22:15.62) was 28th and Savannah Shaver (22:40.04) was 32nd.

Norwalk advances a pair in Div. I boys

FINDLAY — Two Norwalk boys advanced to the regional meet at Saturday’s Div. I, District 2 race at Findlay’s Owens Community College campus.

In District 2, Norwalk just missed advancing as a team, placing fifth with 134 points. However, both Christopher Mohr and Julian Go advanced, placing 13th (16:30.04) and 16th (16:38.81), respectively.

Other top performers for the Truckers included Robert Vazquez (17:09.68) in 24th and Cobey Kromer (17:26.54) in 38th.

Norwalk girls move on to regionals

FINDLAY — Norwalk’s Elyse Coe ran a time of 20:25.57, good for 10th place, to advance as an individual runner for a regional spot at next week’s meet at Tiffin.

In a district where the top five teams and 20 individuals advance to the regionals, the Norwalk girls were the fifth team with 147 points to move on.

Norwalk’s Bethany Cring was 21st (21:26.08), while Jada Thomas (22:11.48) was 29th. Also, Allisan Reyna (23:30.5) was 41st and Janie Dominguez (24:07.7) was 46th.

Edison’s Lesniak wins Div. II district title

GALION — Edison freshman Abby Lesniak — Sandusky Bay Conference Bay division champion a week earlier — added a district title to her name with a championship run of 19:20.67.

Edison was third as a team to advance with 85 points. Bellevue took fourth to qualify in the final spot with 105 points.

Madelyn Verhoff ran eighth to pace the Lady Red with a time of 19:57.50. Taylor Waldecker was 11th (20:30.31) and Lindsey Spurlock 15th (21:01.93).

Ashley Sneider ran 14th (20:50.80) for the Chargers, while Carlie Shover was 17th (21:09.19).

Willard’s Emily Rothhaar advanced as an individual with a run of 20:41.98 to place 12th.

Chargers advance in Div. II boys

GALION — The Edison boys placed third in the team standings and advanced to the regional meet.

Daniel Lambert was eighth (16:37.79) for the Chargers, while Tyler Coon was 12th (16:47.84).

Shelby won with 46 points, followed by Lexington (53). Edison placed third with 87 points.

Willard’s Blake Smith was 17th (17:12.16) to just miss the individual qualifying spots. For Edison, Jonathan Hrivnak was 20th (17:20.76), Brandon Romell was 23rd (17:29.18) and Gavin Schaeffer was 24th (17:31.65).

Norwalk Reflector Videos